>I’m a voracious reader and would easily devour a book a day before Sweet T came along. Thanks goodness for libraries and Project Gutenburg! When it comes to reading the Bible though, I’m a bit of a slacker. Every year I pull out the handy dandy one-year reading chart and vow to read the entire Bible cover to cover that year. Usually I wimp out around May (I&II Chronicles!) and content myself with hitting up Proverbs, Psalms, or John for the rest of the year…when it’s convenient.

While roaming the blogosphere last week I discovered Blogging Through The Bible in 90 Days challenge over at momstoolbox.com It’s the online version of The Bible in 90 Days program which is popular in many churches and other Christian groups. As an exclusively King James Bible reader I won’t be using the program’s special 90 day Bible (NIV) and you don’t have to either. It’s completely optional. Blogging about your journey is optional. Following with Twitter and Facebook is optional. All that is required of you is to read and check in with your group for encouragement. Over 400 women have signed up for the challenge and will be there to support each other. Mom’s Toolbox has some great resources to help you out including the 90 day reading schedule bookmark for those of us not purchasing the special Bible, Daily SOAP (scripture, observation, application, prayer) devotionals to go along with each day’s reading, accountability groups with an assigned mentor who has previously completed the program, as well as Facebook and Twitter updates to remind and encourage you.

While I’ve read the Bible through from cover-to-cover five times on my own, I’ve never done it this quickly or with this much optimism. Hopefully, I’ll be finished with the entire Bible about a month before I’m usually pittering out in Chronicles. That’s going to give me a great sense of accomplishment and a little less guilt about reading the books of the Bible that I enjoy during the rest of the year.

The program runs from January 3rd – April 4th, but it’s not too late to sign up! You can either make up the reading or use one of your two grace days. Happy reading!